International Festival of Operatic Singers “Marie Kraja”
12th Edition
The 12th International Festival of Operatic Singers “Marie Kraja”

Under the Patronage of the Mayor of Tirana, Mr. Lulzim Basha, the 12th Festival took place in Tirana on 29 and 30 October 2011 in the Academy of Fine Arts. About 150 singers from four continents competed in two phases. The first phase, which was the applications phase, took place from May to September 2011. The auditions phase qualified 18 singers to continue their competition in Tirana during the two days of the Festival. The first night of the Festival was a competition of all 18 singers accompanied by the Symphonic Orchestra of Radio Television directed by the Italian conductor, Leonardo Quadrini.  9 singers who were selected by the international Jury competed in the final night of the Festival for the three big Prizes.

All the competing singers brought to this Festival one traditional song from their original countries.

This Festival was put live on the Albanian Public Television through a terrestrial and satellite broadcasting in Europe and North America. Famous guest artists were invited to perform during the Festival. The printed and electronic media devoted increasing interest to this edition of the Festival.

The Prize winners of the 12th Festival were:

First Prize “Marie Kraja”Ms. Sara Heaton, soprano(USA)
Second PrizeMs. Luciana Distante, soprano(Brazil)
Third PrizeMs. Lada Kysikova, soprano, (Kazakhstan) and Mr. Arjol Xhaferri, bass (Albania)

The Jury of the 12th Festival:

  • Mr. Luca TARGETTI, Director of the Academy of La Scalla (Milan), Chair
  • Ms. Inva MULA, soprano (Albania)
  • Ms. Cecilia GASDIA, soprano (Italy)
  • Ms. Giovanna LOMAZZI, Vice President of ASLICO (Milan)
  • Ms. Danusa LUKNISOVA, “Arte Musica Italia” Agency, (Italy)
  • Mr. Hose Francisco CARRERES, Director of Murcia International Festival (Spain)
  • Ms. Suzana FRASHERI, soprano, professor of canto, Academy of Fine Arts (Albania)
  • Ms. Burhan SPAHIU, professor of canto, Academy of Fine Arts (Albania)

President of the Festival:

Mr. Lulzim BASHA
Mayor of Tirana

Artistic Director and Producer:

Mrs. Zana ÇELA


Bojken Lako


Leonardo Quadrini (Italy)